All about Mexico for travellers and would be residents


Pacific Sunset

 

Welcome to WordPress.com. This is your first post. Edit or delete it and start blogging!

I have been dividing my time between Mexico and Canada for the past 3 years and want to share with you my understanding of the complexities which make Mexico the exotic and fascinating country it is. My husband Humberto is Mexican, speaks perfect Spanish and English and is my mentor, assisting me in the sometimes painful process of personal integration into Mexican society. Belonging to Mexico’s unashamedly multilevel  class society is fraught with pitfalls  unknown to Canadians for example who live in a very egalitarian society. Mexico is a country which excels in diversity which includes the culture including music, art, ceramics, literature, clothing, textiles, cuisine, and most important of all language. Not all Mexicans speak the same language, neither spoken language nor another language which I call cultural language and pertains to your position in Mexican society. This language takes a lifetime to learn but the first thing to remember is that Mexicans like Chinese have a strong sense of face and this needs to be maintained and respected even in the most mundane aspects of daily life.

I am writing a collection of stories about my experiences in Mexico which explore the geographical, cultural, social and spiritual differences of living in this unique location. My book is to be published through Kindle and is called Time is for the Soul ….True Stories from Mexico

About Charlotte Ortega

I am a family physician and writer.I am an active member of the Puerto Vallarta Writers Group and I am coordinating this years International Writers Conference to be held in March in association with Los Mangos Library.Winters are spent in Mexico to escape the cold and the summers in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. I am British born but have not lived in the U.K. since 1997. My blog is intended to inform would be travellers and those who view Mexico as a preferred retirement destination on every aspect of living in Mexico, the good and the other...My husband Humberto is Mexican and is a font of knowlege on the diverse cultural and social nuances which exist in this vibrant and colourful country.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to All about Mexico for travellers and would be residents

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Like

  2. luckyluke says:

    Nice blog. I saw your post in Dan’s site and decided to have a dekko. Wish someday to live in mexico. It is dear to my heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

