The bats are back….


This may surprise you but here at the Marival Hotel war is being waged on the bats who have taken refuge high up under the roof of the shadey palappa. The palappa forms part of Humberto’s office and  reception area for guests playing tennis.

The problem with the bats as far as the maintenance department is concerned is that they make a lot of caca. Humberto however is of the opinion that we all make a lot of caca including the maintenance department and that we should not be persecuted and shot for being small, black and messy which again according to Humberto includes a lot of Mexicans and therefore by inference maintenance workers too. Humberto has shared this point of you with the offending, gun wielding, eco terrorists but his comments cause only puzzled, consternation. I am not surprised.

After Humberto’s vacation last summer we were left with only one solitary and lonely little bat. I felt so sad. I check the bat stats daily. In the equipment room one day, I hug Humberto and  peer over his shoulder to make a quick bat count. Humberto knows my intention and tells me not to look. There are no bats. They have been hounded out and I want to cry. This persecution represents in my opinion  just one example of numerous destructive acts which occur daily on our planet earth. Where will all this take us? Human beings, who are so sophisticated and highly intelligent but who can’t live with bats because they make caca and yet we so full of it ourselves. I feel ashamed of being a part of this madness, but I am contributing to the destruction of the planet even though I truly love the bats.

 In the equipment room today, Humberto shows me some stains on his tennis shirt and he asks me what they are. I reply ” Oh yes they’ve been shooting at you ” You guessed the bats pooped on his T shirt. We laugh knowing that it will all wash out very easily. I look up and make a quick bat count. There are five fat bats in the corner of the palappa. I am ecstatic.

These creatures keep scorpions at bay and form a vital part of our  fragile eco system. We could probably manage without the Marival Maintenance department before we could manage without our furry little bats.

About Charlotte Ortega

I am a family physician and writer.I am an active member of the Puerto Vallarta Writers Group and I am coordinating this years International Writers Conference to be held in March in association with Los Mangos Library.Winters are spent in Mexico to escape the cold and the summers in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. I am British born but have not lived in the U.K. since 1997. My blog is intended to inform would be travellers and those who view Mexico as a preferred retirement destination on every aspect of living in Mexico, the good and the other...My husband Humberto is Mexican and is a font of knowlege on the diverse cultural and social nuances which exist in this vibrant and colourful country.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

