The Boutique Theatre Puerto Vallarta


Last night I ventured into Puerto Vallarta with my daughter for an evening of live theatre.

I allow plenty of time or so I think and off we go, setting out in the pink Pacific twilight.  We chat animatedly in the car on the way in and the journey passes in a flash. I choose to park in the multistorey facility next to the beach. I have a map and some directions on the location and feel confident that we will find it easily.

Outside the car park are some taxi drivers and we stop and ask the way. I don’t get a clear sense of where to go and opt to let the taxi driver take the strain of getting us there. He announces brightly that he is new in town. “Oh good just like me” I think. We all laugh.

Not surprisingly he has never heard of the Boutique Theatre and no-one we ask seems to know either. We begin to wonder if it exists at all. After driving around for a while I remember that tickets were sold for this performance at Coco’s kitchen so we launch off there.

The waiters direct the taxi driver and at about 8.30 we arrive for our 8.00 pm start. I pay the taxi driver for the ill fated ride and talk to the lovely lady at the door who regretfully tells us that the doors are closed and that the performance is sold out. I protest that Virginia had left tickets at the door for us but she explains theatre policy is this way….

It is a tiny theatre and she gingerly opens a chink in the door to peep in. She tells us there are two seat in the front row left and because we have had such a rotten time so far there is no charge for the tickets. We both brighten up immediately. Our determination in finding our venue, is being generously rewarded and we still have most of the performance to enjoy. Things are not too bad after all!

I love live performance. It is the most demanding art form for actors and the most rewarding for them and their audience.

A number of famous stars and celebrities were represented on the stage, including John Wayne, Madonna, Audrey Hepburn, Diego and Frida and Mae West. The performances were witty, passionate, authentic and moving.

The stories shared as monologues were well written and packed with facts. We are not only well entertained but well informed too. The characters draw me into their world, and I forget about my own humdrum responsibilies, and times flies by.

Mar West is the last act and outrageously funny. We applaud the final curtain call enthusiastically. The audience files out and mingles with the actors outside and share a light snack.

The evening is pleasantly warm. Overhanging the front of the theatre is a climbing plant with thick lavender coloured blooms. Some have fallen on the pavement below providing an appealing carpet. This unconscious beauty belongs only to Mexico.

The journey home is a lot easier. Dark now, my daughter and I walk at speed back to our parked vehicle, two male figures are not too far behind us and we quicken the pace. We feel safer where this is better lighting and more people around. Our unwanted companions blend in with the shadows and disappear into the night.

 On the way back to Bucerias we laugh and laugh about the mischievous Mae West and thoughtfully discuss the other performances.

You can’t have a better evening’s entertainment than at the Boutique Theatre. The address by the way for those geographically challenged persons like myself is 321 Manuel Diequez, PV. Tickets can be purchased in advance from tickets@boutiquetheatre.ca . Have a great evening!

About Charlotte Ortega

I am a family physician and writer.I am an active member of the Puerto Vallarta Writers Group and I am coordinating this years International Writers Conference to be held in March in association with Los Mangos Library.Winters are spent in Mexico to escape the cold and the summers in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. I am British born but have not lived in the U.K. since 1997. My blog is intended to inform would be travellers and those who view Mexico as a preferred retirement destination on every aspect of living in Mexico, the good and the other...My husband Humberto is Mexican and is a font of knowlege on the diverse cultural and social nuances which exist in this vibrant and colourful country.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

