From the comfort of Mexico, prayers for Japan….


The Fire of Flowers

It is almost a week since the catastrophic earthquake and tsunami struck Japan like a fatal hammer.

Humberto and I have been discussing the impact on a daily basis and there is no doubt in my mind of the global consequences of this terrifying natural disaster. As I write there are people putting their lives on the line, working like dogs, sleep and food deprived, in unbelievably hostile conditions, extreme heat and silent but deadly radiation. These men and women, right now , are doing their utmost to prevent the devastating consequences of nuclear activity.

My heartfelt prayers go out to these unseen, unsung heroes and heroines and also my deepest gratitude.  Please join me, all of you, in  remembering them through prayer and also lighting a candle of hope for these workers who at this time may well be feeling forgotten and dejected.

About Charlotte Ortega

I am a family physician and writer.I am an active member of the Puerto Vallarta Writers Group and I am coordinating this years International Writers Conference to be held in March in association with Los Mangos Library.Winters are spent in Mexico to escape the cold and the summers in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. I am British born but have not lived in the U.K. since 1997. My blog is intended to inform would be travellers and those who view Mexico as a preferred retirement destination on every aspect of living in Mexico, the good and the other...My husband Humberto is Mexican and is a font of knowlege on the diverse cultural and social nuances which exist in this vibrant and colourful country.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From the comfort of Mexico, prayers for Japan….

  1. Caroline Webb says:

    People can send messages to the workers, should anyone there be able to see them, via this link: http://morgsatlarge.wordpress.com/support-our-heroic-engineers-2/ I sent a message.

    Money to support the very stretched humanitarian situation can be given direct to Japan Red Cross, I believe, but if not to American Red Cross which has given $10 million already. The survivors and the evacuees need fuel for heating, gasoline, food, water, clean underwear, blankets – you name it. There is very high need right now, one week after the tsunami and my guess is that whatever was stockpiled for an emergency has been all used up and now they are going short, freezing at night, very uncomfortable indeed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

