Making love…..


As a child I remember growing up hearing the slogan make love not war. I didn’t quite understand it all but I never thought that war could be a good thing.

Kindness it seems to me, is a commodity which is in short supply and when it is available people sometimes abuse it and mistake it for stupidity. Kind people are not automatically stupid and stupid people are not always kind. In fact, kindness emanates from a well cultivated heart. Kind people in my experience are happy and contented and radiate a positive attractive energy. I have every reason to believe that kind people live longer and I imagine with greater fulfillment.

I do have the capacity to be kind. I also have the capacity to be unkind but most times I manage the good and it’s not that difficult.

I want to share an odd story and it’s a true story.

In August of last year I was in the bank in Calgary, Canada at midnight withdrawing 200 dollars when in came a dishevelled  agitated  small man. My husband stood between us as I walked towards the exit. My husband looked a little anxious but the man looked desperate. I saw a human being at the end of his tether. He gave an incoherent story of needing gas and not having any money. He fumbled in his pocket as he rambled. Humberto looked concerned. I felt he genuinely needed help and  without hesitation gave him 20 dollars.

“Here you are” I said with a smile”Please take this for you gas and anything else you need”

I gave with my heart.

Humberto seemed to relax a little as we left the bank.

It was late and I had an early start the next day so we fell into bed and slept.

In the morning Humberto said to me”Do you realize what you did last night?”

” Yes ,I gave a needy man 20 bucks”

“You really have no idea do you?”he said.

“That man was armed, I saw the weapon in his pocket, he was about to mug us, and then you came along smiling with your 20 bucks.”

I hadn’t tuned in and didn’t think about getting mugged because it is not something I would ever think of doing to anyone. I just felt the man’s need and desperation and the right thing to do in that moment was to bless him with 20 bucks.

His expression changed instantly I remember.

“Thank you, thank you, that is so kind, I’ll remember you in my will.”

“That’s okay ” I had said ” Have a good night.”

And off we went uninjured.

Mexico gets a bad press in Canada and the US and there are violent incidents here, but we can’t say that bad things don’t happen in our very own backyards. Except on this occasion kindness won the day!

About Charlotte Ortega

I am a family physician and writer.I am an active member of the Puerto Vallarta Writers Group and I am coordinating this years International Writers Conference to be held in March in association with Los Mangos Library.Winters are spent in Mexico to escape the cold and the summers in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. I am British born but have not lived in the U.K. since 1997. My blog is intended to inform would be travellers and those who view Mexico as a preferred retirement destination on every aspect of living in Mexico, the good and the other...My husband Humberto is Mexican and is a font of knowlege on the diverse cultural and social nuances which exist in this vibrant and colourful country.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

