US Travel Warning…Danger


Mexico gets a bad press as a safe and desirable tourist destination.
In the wake of Friday’s horrific events in Connecticut I would argue that the US is a very dangerous place to travel to. 26 innocent victims gunned down in a school. This is war.
Meanwhile here in Mexico (where I feel pretty safe by the way) there has never in it’s entire history been a massacre of innocent children in a school. This is something Mexico can take great pride in. These repeated events of mass murder of innocent folk on the other hand is deeply shameful to the American people.
Beyond belief though is the brazen defense on CNN and Fox of the the indefensible US Gun Laws. I guarantee that as long as these laws remain Fridays tragedy will be repeated over and over again. The debate masquerades as the defense of the citizen’s right to own a gun. This false veneer does not fool me. This debate is about the Gun Lobby and God forbid that anyone should hurt the profits of these disgustingly wealthy and powerful pedlars of death. Long may the Gun Lords reign strong free and rich and heaven help anyone who stands in their way.The Gun Lobby is amoral(which means without morals) and I notice nobody has the courage to challenge them. Shame on you all!
Here I am though in sunny Mexico having been warned that it is listed as one of the most dangerous tourist destinations in the world. Really? Two or 3 tourists have the misfortune to be murdered and it makes Mexico too dangerous to travel to. I’m from Calgary and from what I’ve heard it’s pretty dangerous too. Rapes, assaults, murders be careful!

Here in Mexico I live a peaceful life. I am careful. I rarely go out after dark. I don’t drink, party or go clubbing. I certainly don’t do any kind of drugs as this is a foolish invitation to trouble.

So apart from having a strong opinion on the ridiculous US Gun Laws what more can I say. Come visit Mexico of course. What you hear on Fox and CNN is pathetic government propaganda. Don’t be fooled Mexico is a fantastic place to visit and you know the kids come home from school everyday and hug their parents.

About Charlotte Ortega

I am a family physician and writer.I am an active member of the Puerto Vallarta Writers Group and I am coordinating this years International Writers Conference to be held in March in association with Los Mangos Library.Winters are spent in Mexico to escape the cold and the summers in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. I am British born but have not lived in the U.K. since 1997. My blog is intended to inform would be travellers and those who view Mexico as a preferred retirement destination on every aspect of living in Mexico, the good and the other...My husband Humberto is Mexican and is a font of knowlege on the diverse cultural and social nuances which exist in this vibrant and colourful country.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to US Travel Warning…Danger

  1. Bill Hayes says:

    I can second that! Mexico is such a warm and human place to visit. Yes there are some troubles in the boarder region – but actually, these are American problems deep down.

    America is 5 per cent of the world’s population yet own 50 per cent of the world’s hand guns.

    Like

Leave a Reply

