Why I love Mexico


This weekend I attended the PVWG conference and met folk from all over the United States including New York and some from UK too. It was a great conference even if the prospect of twittering one’s way to success seems undoable.
My encounters with the ladies from New York reminded me of what a difference a few hours going South in a plane can make. Mexico is easily accessible but a world away from New York.
Sophisticated skyscrapers and neatly arranged streets give way here to unpaved dusty roads with low rise ramshackle homes.
In my yard are fruit trees, coconuts, papaya, banana and limas. I grow my own mint, basil, rosemary and thyme. Exotic birds nest in my trees and are our welcome guests. There are other exotic animals too, snakes which are non venomous, garrobos which are a dark skinned lizzard like creatures and iguanas. At the bottom of my yard live some ugly frogs and salamanders.
Some not so welcome guests who visited recently were the small rodents who found there way into our non rodent proof house.
I am sure some people might think, “How can they live like that?” and I would say very happily and with great contentment. The sun shines almost every day and the birds sing and chirp.The majestic Pacific Ocean is a 5 minute drive away with its irrestible sandy beaches.
I eat all the fruit I can and it is succulent and sweet. I cook delicious fish dinners which would make a gourmet chef sick with jealousy.
My only complaint today was that dinner conversation was punctuated by frequent interruptions from the incessant barking of the neighbours dog. The barking did stop and we had a great meal any way.
I live in rural Mexico, away from the high rise beach front condo buildings with their granite counter tops and marble floors. My home backs onto a field and beyond that woodland and beyond that the mystical Sierra Madre.
My home is affordable and I enjoy the same sunshine and good weather of the folk who have spent a small fortune for their condos.
I live with my gorgeous affectionate Mexican partner Humberto and most days I consider myself the luckiest woman on the planet to have a life as wonderful as this.

About Charlotte Ortega

I am a family physician and writer.I am an active member of the Puerto Vallarta Writers Group and I am coordinating this years International Writers Conference to be held in March in association with Los Mangos Library.Winters are spent in Mexico to escape the cold and the summers in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. I am British born but have not lived in the U.K. since 1997. My blog is intended to inform would be travellers and those who view Mexico as a preferred retirement destination on every aspect of living in Mexico, the good and the other...My husband Humberto is Mexican and is a font of knowlege on the diverse cultural and social nuances which exist in this vibrant and colourful country.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

