Fraud and theft in Mexico: Alert 500 fake bills in circulation


In the last week I had the misfortune to acquire a fake 500 peso bill. It came I believe from the ATM at Scotia bank near Mega between Mezcales and Bucerias. I presented it at the Famar restaurant where we are frequent clients and was informed very tactfully that the bill was fake.
Please be on the alert and carefully check the cash you are dispensed at the banks and keep your receipt if you use an ATM.
The bank believe it or not can take it away but will not reimburse you. I had the misfortune to have my truck robbed this week too and guess what the thieves took my fake bill. Some divine justice there perhaps.
On that note do not leave any valuables in your vehicles and lock them carefully and then check that they are locked. Don’t make it wasy for these thieves.
Also I have heard from friends staying at the Mayan Palace that they are missing jewellery so be careful there too.

About Charlotte Ortega

I am a family physician and writer.I am an active member of the Puerto Vallarta Writers Group and I am coordinating this years International Writers Conference to be held in March in association with Los Mangos Library.Winters are spent in Mexico to escape the cold and the summers in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. I am British born but have not lived in the U.K. since 1997. My blog is intended to inform would be travellers and those who view Mexico as a preferred retirement destination on every aspect of living in Mexico, the good and the other...My husband Humberto is Mexican and is a font of knowlege on the diverse cultural and social nuances which exist in this vibrant and colourful country.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

