Rain in Mexico! The weather is achanging


I just returned to Mexico after surviving the extraordinary flooding in Calgary Southern Alberta in June 2013.
November in Mexico is usually a sunny month with less humidity. Not so this year. Today is the 19th November and yesterday was the first day of what I would consider “normal” November weather. Blue skies and bright sunshine. Today more of the same with a few harmless clouds in the afternoon.
On my flight south on the 30th October I was disturbed to see hundreds of miles of thick cloud with thunder clouds stacked up like New York sky scrapers. It looked ominous. Each day after my return it rained with a thunderstorm. Then devastating news from the Phillipines a storm to top all storms and devastating flooding and many thousands of people dead. The next day our grey skies were gone. A strange coincidence or a direct connection? I don’t know but the timing was curious. The earth is groaning under the enormous strain of manmade pollution and innumerable environmental hazards, dams, pesticides, enormous carbon emissions. Our bees are sick and our birds are dying. An alternative energy source to replace gasoline needs to be provided urgently. Time is not on our side and I feel like an Old Testament prophet proclaiming a cataclysmic disaster. To the Oil and Gas industry I say to all of you work on providing an alternative clean energy source as fast as you can. Not all the $$$s in the world can withstand the force of mother nature. We will all bend to her will whether we like it our not.
I hope somebody with influence reads this and is moved to make the our the world needs today.
Please leave a comment. It is always stimulating to get feedback from my readers.

About Charlotte Ortega

I am a family physician and writer.I am an active member of the Puerto Vallarta Writers Group and I am coordinating this years International Writers Conference to be held in March in association with Los Mangos Library.Winters are spent in Mexico to escape the cold and the summers in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. I am British born but have not lived in the U.K. since 1997. My blog is intended to inform would be travellers and those who view Mexico as a preferred retirement destination on every aspect of living in Mexico, the good and the other...My husband Humberto is Mexican and is a font of knowlege on the diverse cultural and social nuances which exist in this vibrant and colourful country.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rain in Mexico! The weather is achanging

Leave a Reply

