What is a magicJack phone device


I purchased a magicJack phone device about a year ago but didn’t get around to activating it until this latest trip back to Mexico. This is done in the country of origin which in my case is Canada. This allows me to make calls back to Canada using the local calling rate. The cost for the device, 5 years of service access, plus a second device and $10 worth of international calling was almost $200 which compares very favourably with the cost of using calling cards to call Mexico over the past few months which cost between $200 and $300. Not cheap at all.
The setting up of the magicJack was for me very time consuming. It took 2-3 hours and I did not find the on line help from Florida all that great. Also I needed to purchase a Logitech headset for $44 to be able to make and receive calls.
Now it is set up I am reaping the benefits but it wasn’t an easy process. Also at times the quality of the connection is poor so that conversations become unintelligible which is annoying.
It is too soon to comment on my overall satisfaction but the set up for sure was difficult.
This device however does compare incredibly favourably to the extortionate fees of Telus and Telcel.
Definitely worth serious consideration.
Reader feedback experience appreciated. Please leave me a comment.

About Charlotte Ortega

I am a family physician and writer.I am an active member of the Puerto Vallarta Writers Group and I am coordinating this years International Writers Conference to be held in March in association with Los Mangos Library.Winters are spent in Mexico to escape the cold and the summers in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. I am British born but have not lived in the U.K. since 1997. My blog is intended to inform would be travellers and those who view Mexico as a preferred retirement destination on every aspect of living in Mexico, the good and the other...My husband Humberto is Mexican and is a font of knowlege on the diverse cultural and social nuances which exist in this vibrant and colourful country.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

