Keeping up with the Kardashians in Mexico


Over the Spring, Summer and Fall I work hard to set money aside in what I call the “Sunshine Fund”. The money I work so hard for over the warmer months in Canada allows me to nurse my aging joints in the delightful sunny winter in Mexico.
One of my favorite places is the Playa Careyeros beach close to the Four Seasons Hotel in Punta de Mita. I could never justify the cost of staying even one night at this luxury resort that hosted President Enrique Peña Nieto in November of this year.Tight lipped troops patrolled the beach we frequent each Sunday and a Mexican navy frigate was anchored off the sandy beach. I shared my guess with Humberto “some politician must be staying at the Four Seasons.” My hunch was right.
Along with our Mexican president many “A” Listers visit this secluded corner of the Pacific including the curvaceous Kim Kardashian, teen heart throb Justin Bieber, Selena Gomez, Charlie Sheen, Kate Hudson, Kirsten Dunst, Lady Gaga, Ewan McGregor, Joan Rivers and the discreet but enormously wealthy Sir Paul McCartney.
It is very unlikely that I will share their fame and fortune in this lifetime(though nothing is impossible) but I do share the same sunkissed beaches and the pleasure of playing in the warm waters of the gentle Pacific.
And the best thing of all as an ordinary traveler I don´t have to worry about tight security or running the gauntlet of paparazzi. If I’m having a bad hair day which happens quite often, nobody cares not even me!

About Charlotte Ortega

I am a family physician and writer.I am an active member of the Puerto Vallarta Writers Group and I am coordinating this years International Writers Conference to be held in March in association with Los Mangos Library.Winters are spent in Mexico to escape the cold and the summers in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. I am British born but have not lived in the U.K. since 1997. My blog is intended to inform would be travellers and those who view Mexico as a preferred retirement destination on every aspect of living in Mexico, the good and the other...My husband Humberto is Mexican and is a font of knowlege on the diverse cultural and social nuances which exist in this vibrant and colourful country.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keeping up with the Kardashians in Mexico

  1. Laurie says:

    You are celebrity to me! Just waiting on a plane in Calgary and had a delightful read of your creativity.
    A wonderful Christmas to you and Humberto xoxoL

    Like

Leave a Reply

