Raul Zurutuza Tournament Director extraordinaire : Acapulco Open


I honestly can´t say enough good things about this gentleman´s skilful execution of a sometimes impossibly difficult job. For tennis fans anywhere in the world I want to emphasize that the Acapulco Open is a must see event. Set in the elegant Fairmont Princess overlooking the glittering waters of the Pacific, the location is paradise.

Humberto Ortega and I had been anticipating our trip since last year in the hope of seeing Rafael Nadal defend his title. Any disappointment we may have had when he could not come was more than made up for by the extraordinary matches we saw . These include those played by Andy Murray, Grigor Dimitrov, Kevin Anderson and Ernests Gulbis.

I am a die hard Andy Murray fan and sometimes I felt like the lone Brit waving my flag, but evidently it struck a chord with the promoters who captured the images and now you can see me and Humberto on the TV ads! Also there is a photo on the tournament blog, of me proudly brandishing my Union Jack and wearing a big smile.

Throughout the tournament Humberto and I had a ball! We picked our matches which weren´t always the ones on centre court and rooted for our favourites. Nicolas Meister was unfortunate to lose to Alexandro Fallo but fortunate to leave the court with his shirt. Enthusiastic fans wanted him to part with just about everything he owned even though he confided that he did have a sponsor. This is a great shame as Nicolas has an excellent game. I hope he is doing better with sponsorship.

The grounds surrounding the new hard courts were well supplied with all kinds of vendors from ice cream, steaks refreshing juices and horchatas and tons of tennis clothing and other goodies. There were autograph signings,fun events for kids and raffles to add to the offcourt activities.

The bonus for me was arriving early to see some of the qualifiers. For 100 pesos a day with play starting at 4.00 pm there was a great opportunity to see tennis rising stars. I pick Allie Kiick as top 50 by the end of the year all she has to do is believe in herself and that she is a winner!She has the capacity to change a losing game and fight back in 3 sets and that is always impressive !

The new hard courts with the new surface is I believe a great advance for the tournament. I think clay will be phased out and I expect Roland Garros to change surfaces within the next 5 years. That is my prediction let´s see if I am right. In this respect Mexico´s premier tournament is ahead of the game and is I believe making a very very positive choice for change.

So Raul Zurutuza warm congratulations from Jane and Humberto on such a successful tournament. This gentleman can hold his own anywhere in the world as tournament director. Both his interpersonal and organizational skills are quite exceptional and thanks to him we have very happy memories we shall treasure for the rest of our days.

Thank you Raul from the bottom of our hearts!Image

About Charlotte Ortega

I am a family physician and writer.I am an active member of the Puerto Vallarta Writers Group and I am coordinating this years International Writers Conference to be held in March in association with Los Mangos Library.Winters are spent in Mexico to escape the cold and the summers in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. I am British born but have not lived in the U.K. since 1997. My blog is intended to inform would be travellers and those who view Mexico as a preferred retirement destination on every aspect of living in Mexico, the good and the other...My husband Humberto is Mexican and is a font of knowlege on the diverse cultural and social nuances which exist in this vibrant and colourful country.
This entry was posted in ATP tennis Acapulco 2014, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

